First Published: 24 February 2016
Author: iCentre Admin
Snapchat is a popular messaging app that allows teens to exchange user-generated photos, texts and videos and send them as messages to other Snapchat users. Every Snapchat message has a viewing time limit ranging from 1 to 10 seconds, as selected by the sender. However, users need to be informed about the 'temporary' aspect of the service, and as with any social media-sharing tool, be cautious and thoughtful about which images they send.
Snapchat was not created with educational intent and does not support learning. Its creators intended the app's fleeting images to be a way for teens to share fun, light moments without the risk of having them go public. And that's what most teens use it for - sending goofy or embarrassing photos to one another. However, the app has gained a reputation as a "sexting" app because outgoing (and incoming) pictures, videos, and texts are not stored on devices and users may believe they have been permanently deleted.
Data is data. Whenever anything is sent online, it never truly goes away. (For example, the person on the receiving end can easily take a screenshot of the image before it disappears.) Snapchats can even be recovered -- unaffiliated third-party services such as Snapsaved (which has been hacked) give users the chance to save any Snapchatted pic. Also, users can pay to view Snaps multiple times.
Visit the Australian Government website for more information as outlined below